Archive for August 15th, 2012

August 15, 2012

WASH-JN members win 2012 WASH Media Awards

Two members of the West Africa WASH Media Network are among six winners of the 2012  “WASH Media Awards” competition for their excellence in reporting on water, sanitation and hygiene-related (WASH) issues.

They are  Alain Tossounon who is the National Coordinator of the Reseau Des Journalistes Du Benin Pour Leau et L’assainnisement (RJBEA) and Francis Umendu Odupute from the Edo Chapter of the Water and Sanitation Media Network, Nigeria

 The Journalists will receive their awards during a ceremony, on 31 August 2012 at the World Water Week in Stockholm, Sweden. 

During the World Water Week, the journalists will share their experiences on reporting WASH issues with leading water, sanitation, environment and development experts reporting during different session throughout the week.

 The six journalists and their winning entries are:

  • Alain Tossounon (Benin): “Access to safe water in the town of Ava-Sô, A perilous conquest for survival.” (Accès à l’eau potable dans la commune de Sô-Ava, Une conquête périlleuse pour la survie.)
  • Ngala Killian Chimtom (Cameroon): “The Taps Have Run Dry
  • Berta Tilmantaite (Lithuania): “The River Runs Back”
  • Francis Odupute (Nigeria): “The Strategists”
  • Francesca de Châtel (Belgium): “Water Around the Mediterranean”
  • Ketan Trivedi (India): “Alchemy of Earning Money through Wastes and Making a Village Clean, Hygienic and Lovely”
  • The bi-annual WASH Media Awards competition is sponsored by the Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council (WSSCC) and the Stockholm International Water Institute (SIWI).

More than 150 entries from 40 countries were evaluated by a jury chaired by: Mr. Mark Tran, a notable international correspondent for The Guardian, UK. The jury included Mrs. Faz da Hall, Executive Producer Channel Africa, SABC, South Africa, Mr. Jon Sawyer, Executive Director, Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting, USA. Mr. Olivier Nyirubugara, Senior Trainer Voices of Africa Media Foundation, Rwanda/Netherlands and Ms. Vinaya Deshpande, The Hindu, India.

The jury praised this year’s entries for their journalistic excellence, investigative ability, and originality.